Whites and lice and blacks and worms

Home Forums Race/Ethnicity Whites and lice and blacks and worms

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

S.K. Lee

I work in a school setting, and it seems to me that white children have a problem with head lice and black children have a problem with ring worms. Does anyone know why?

User Detail :  

Name : S.K. Lee, Gender : F, Race : Black/African American, Religion : Baptist, Age : 30, City : Flint, State : MI Country : United States, Occupation : Para Professional, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Lower middle class, 

Angela24947
    Participant

Lice cannot survive in black hair because we have to use oils and stuff that they can’t live in. White people don’t use stuff in teir hair like we do. I don’t think ringworm has a preference between black or white. I could be wrong.

User Detail :  

Name : Angela24947, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Black/African American, Religion : Christian, Age : 29, City : Atlanta, State : GA Country : United States, Occupation : mom, wife, writer, Education level : 2 Years of College, 

Allan31416
    Participant

Good question. Lice may have a preference for hair type but a lot of it may have to do with conditions locally. Do the black and white people in your area live in specific areas where conditions promote different afflictions? It could be a biological thing: maybe whites do have a higher resistance to ringworm and the same with blacks and lice. There is just too little information to give a definie answer to this question. All I can say is to do some private research and figure it out if the question perplexes your so. maybe you’ll figure out something important, or perhaps humourous.

User Detail :  

Name : Allan31416, Gender : M, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 22, City : Halifax, State : NA Country : Canada, Occupation : Student, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Barb