Mostly subtle or blunt racism today?

Home Forums Race/Ethnicity Mostly subtle or blunt racism today?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Alisha-R
    Participant

I am a nursing student, and in the past several weeks we have been reading articles pertaining to race and ethnicity. There have been many articles we have studied written by African Americans stating that racism today is very subtle and that many people may make racist comments and not even know it. For example: ‘I don’t see you as being black.’ I know these statements came as a shock to me and my fellow classmates because we saw instances in which we did or said something similar to the above. My question: Does anyone else see that racism today is focused more on subtle comments, or is there still a lot of outright blunt racism?

User Detail :  

Name : Alisha-R, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 24, City : Kansas City, State : MO Country : United States, Education level : 4 Years of College, 

Terri24699
    Participant