Mexicans buying beer every Sunday?

Home Forums Race/Ethnicity Mexicans buying beer every Sunday?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

C19321
    Participant

Why is it that Mexicans at grocery stores or mini marts or gas stations seem to always be buying huge packs of beer (like 32 packs) on Sunday afternoons? Does it have to do with relaxing after a hard week?

User Detail :  

Name : C19321, City : Central, State : CA Country : United States, 

Sherry27984
    Participant

I spent 22 years in a California city with a large Mexican population (70 percent). I also worked as a checkout clerk at stores patronized by mostly Mexicans. They’re hard-working and often do not fit the lazy stereotypes that are often attached to them. Sunday is the only day that many Mexicans receive off from work. They’ll often chill out, drink beer and spend time with the family. Huge packs of beer are purchased because larger packs tend to be priced economically. Also, more beer is needed since the number of extended family members may be enormous.

User Detail :  

Name : Sherry27984, Gender : Female, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Black/African American, Age : 24, City : Bakersfield, State : CA Country : United States, Occupation : Homeowner, Education level : Technical School, Social class : Middle class, 

Ron-S29628
    Participant