Massage therapists getting dissed

Home Forums Occupation Massage therapists getting dissed

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Mary28560
    Participant

Why is it that massage therapists aren’t recognized as having any value in the health industry? I have fixed shoulders, necks and backs on numerous occasions but I get snubbed by chiropractors, physical therapists and occupational therapists when I inquire about possible employment opportunities.

User Detail :  

Name : Mary28560, Gender : F, Race : White/Caucasian, Age : 25, City : Springfield, State : VT Country : United States, Occupation : massage therapist, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Sara-B
    Participant

A lot of people don’t respect massage therapists, not just those from the healthcare industry. I was a massage therapist several years ago until my hands gave out. The majority of people I massaged were rude, snobby jerks who didn’t tip well and wouldn’t care if they heard my fingers breaking as long as they got their ultra deep massage. As for healthcare professional,s to them you are competition. It’s as simple as that.

User Detail :  

Name : Sara-B, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Black/African American, Age : 37, City : Atlanta, State : GA Country : United States, Education level : Technical School, Social class : Middle class, 

Ann L. Lowenstein
    Participant