First Job for a girl

Home Forums Occupation First Job for a girl

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #10509

    Mary19645
    Participant

    What would be a suitable job for a suburban teenage girl?

    User Detail :  

    Name : Mary19645, Gender : F, Age : 16, City : Alexandria, State : VA Country : United States, Education level : Less than High School Diploma, Social class : Middle class, 
    #14970

    Teresa28701
    Participant

    There are many things you can do. Don’t have any high expectations right now, and don’t be afraid to do some work that is ‘below’ you (I only say this because at 17 my sister worked for a month in a clothing store, then complained that it was too ‘simple’ for her; two years later she’s not worked again). School is your No. 1 priority right now, so you’ll need a job that will let you be flexible and have time off if you need it. I would suggest working during the summer at a forest preserve, beach, pool, or children’s camp, because these can get you to know more about your community and its resources (natural and manmade). If you want to work during the year, then I would say go for fast food or retail. You can start these jobs with little or no experience–although if the business sells alcohol and tobacco, they probably won’t want to hire someone your age. Overall, fill out as many applications as possible, and be willing to try a variety of jobs.

    User Detail :  

    Name : Teresa28701, Gender : F, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Christian, Age : 21, City : Gurnee, State : IL Country : United States, Occupation : student, 
    #26620

    Ann L. Lowenstein
    Participant

    It depends on what you like to do. If you like kids a lot, baby sitting is a good way to start. If you like reading, apply at bookstores. There’s always the old ‘fast food’ standby, but I wouldn’t recommend it unless you like stinking of stale grease. Music stores are another option, and so are clothing stores like ‘Rave’ or ‘Deb’. If you are into that sort of cultish atmosphere, you could apply at a Starbucks, or if you want to work a coffee shop without the Amway mentality, there are probably other local venues you could check out.

    User Detail :  

    Name : Ann L. Lowenstein, Gender : F, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Animist, Age : 37, City : K.C., State : MO Country : United States, Occupation : Administrative Assistant, Education level : 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 
    #38100

    Mike
    Member

    -Fast food -part time secretary (they are out there) -retail -Starbucks is really good with young kids.

    User Detail :  

    Name : Mike, Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : White/Caucasian, Religion : Catholic, Age : 29, City : Lancaster, State : CA Country : United States, Occupation : Professional, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Upper middle class, 
    #40457

    Laurie-B28831
    Participant

    It varies depending on your strengths, experience, etc. I suggest you go to the guidance or career-counseling department at your high school and talk to them. Sometimes they can even help you find a job.

    User Detail :  

    Name : Laurie-B28831, Gender : F, Age : 55, City : Boston, State : MA Country : United States, 
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.