Black-on-Black rudeness

Home Forums Race/Ethnicity Black-on-Black rudeness

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Ke-Ro

I am a 20-year-old college student attending Florida A&M University. Why do some African Americans find it hard to project a positive attitude in the workplace and be courteous to customers – especially those of the same race?
    Original Code R642. Click here to see responses from the original archives. Click “to respond” below to reply.

User Detail :  

Name : Ke-Ro, Race : Black/African American, Age : 20, City : Tallahassee, State : FL Country : United States, Occupation : College student, 

J. McCants

The reason some blacks seem to offer less courteous service to other blacks may stem more from their attitudes toward whites and themselves than other blacks. Some blacks have been socialized to treat whites with higher levels of respect and authority than themselves and their own. Society teaches us in several places, such as our schools, that we are inferior to whites. Check the textbooks and the TV commercials. It’s not hard to get. If you do not have a strong support system to counter these lessons, you end up honoring and/or loving whites more than yourself. This can lead to self-hatred and low self-esteem. When you see another black face, you see yourself and end up expressing your feelings for yourself toward these persons.

User Detail :  

Name : J. McCants, Gender : F, Race : Black/African American, Religion : Christian, Age : 21, City : Fort Washington, State : MD Country : United States, Occupation : University student, 

Given C

Yes I agree with G.E. Long, totally. The only trouble is that most of these clerks may not even get the opportunity to read these messages.

User Detail :  

Name : Given C, Gender : M, Race : Black/African American, Age : 27, City : London, State : NA Country : United Kingdom, Education level : Over 4 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Amy