Auto repair techs are not dirty grease monkeys

Home Forums Occupation Auto repair techs are not dirty grease monkeys

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Rodney O.

Who do people look at me as a third-rate person when I tell them I am an auto mechanic? Do they realize that the cars of today require a constantly increasing amount of knowledge to diagnose and repair, that the systems utilized in today’s cars are rivaled only by those of the human body, or that a good tech earns $40,000 to $70,000 anually? We are professionals and deserve to be treated as such.

User Detail :  

Name : Rodney O., Gender : M, Sexual Orientation : Straight, Race : Black/African American, Religion : Episcopalian, Age : 33, City : Virginia Beach, State : VA Country : United States, Occupation : ASE Master Auto Tech, Education level : 2 Years of College, Social class : Middle class, 

Alex29022
    Participant

All my life I have been surrounded by auto mechanics and handymen in general, and I have been asked, told and pushed to become one for as long as I can remember. My uncle is the penultimate “grease monkey.” He is, in short, disgusting. None of his work has any quality, he does not take care of his hygiene and he has no social life. If you ever saw the Western Union commercial with the stereotypical grease monkey, he’s it and more. He is filthy, his hair is rarely washed or cut, it looks like his jaw will fall off and he is inarticulate. He does not work as a professional garage mechanic; he would never be hired. Another auto enthusiast I know, who also is not a professional auto mechanic, has destroyed his marriage by spending all his time on cars.

Sure, you deserve to be treated like a professional businessman, like any other. But as long as there are “enthusiasts” who can’t do quality work, wouldn’t be hired by you or your employers and leave such a shocking, terrible impression on people, you will have to work ever harder to get respect.